Surreal Landscape Project

 

flint_surreal

For our first Digital Media project, the assignment was to use photo shop techniques to create a surreal landscape.

When looking for objects or items to insert into the photo, I found a lot of pictures of creepy creatures. There’s a mixture of pictures of props, people in costumes, and animatronics that I has found all put into this hallway (and outside too). They were all found from various amusement parks (alien and troll), haunted houses (dragon), and some were even here in the art building (skeleton and coffin on the ground which was my sculpture project).

Although I did use more of a hallway than a landscape, I thought it would look interesting because the whole concept behind this became monster or mythical creature “students” enrolling at Kent State. What if one day these whimsical creatures were walking amongst us at school? That’s what I thought to myself as I was making this which was super fun.

As far as the process creating this, I was somewhat surprised with how this had some challenges, but wasn’t too terribly difficult. The only time it became difficult was when I was trying to figure out what layers needed to be where in order to create the illusion that some of the creatures were outside.

Overall, it was enjoyable to watch the creatures “inhabit” the school as I worked on this.

Here is the “before” picture, it was taken in the jewelry/metals hallway in the art building:
img_1801

Leave a Reply

